Cover Art: Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett

Welcome back! Today I bring you a new illustration and a very quick post!

In the past few months I have been enjoying Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels. Last week I finished the third book, ‘Equal Rites’, and really loved the main character Esk. So I have created my own version of the book cover, featuring the young witch/wizard with something very precious, and some very strange things in the background…

What are you reading at the moment? What would you recommend? Please tell me in the comments or via social media.

 

cover_equalrites
My rough design for the cover of ‘Equal Rites’ by Terry Pratchett

This drawing took me about an hour in total: just a pencil sketch, with black fine liners and a brush pen on top. I saw the composition really clearly in my head before I drew it, but the writing could be improved/moved. I think I will re-draw this design at a larger scale soon and paint it.

I am really enjoying gradually defining my own style through each drawing, like adding clear lines in the hair and cute cheeks. I have a long way to go, but I’m having fun! 

Next up on the blog this Friday will be my Christmas creative wishlist, featuring a few books and a lot of new art materials which I have been drooling over! What’s on your wishlist? I can’t wait to put together some lovely gifts for my family; mostly handmade of course! It helps to have lots of festive sparkle at such a gloomy and wet time of the year. Stay safe in the crazy weather this week sisters, see you soon!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

One Reply to “Cover Art: Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett”

Leave a Reply

