Sunday Sunray News: preparation for my first ever market stall

Good evening sisters! So it is less than a week until my first ever market stall, and I wanted to share all the things I am preparing to sell, as well as my packaging and display ideas. Let’s have a look…

First the most exciting thing: my final Christmas card designs have been sent to the printers, and are due to arrive on Tuesday! They will be square cards, in three different designs, with my logo and information on the back, and blank on the inside. Check out my post from a couple of weeks ago to find out more about these designs.

Here is a little look at how I created each design, using watercolour, then black fine-liner, and coloured pencils on top for details and definition.

I have also designed some hand carved stamps for mini cards which will have wooden silver brooches attached.

Alongside greetings cards, I will have a variety of small gifts and decorations, including embroidered zip pouches, embroidered brooches (there’s still one left in my Etsy!), notebooks, paper bunting, stickers, gift tags and gift wrap. And hopefully some new mini dolls too! You can click on any of the images below to get a closer look.

Of course I need to consider packaging as well. This is an area which I feel quite strongly about with regards to waste, and I believe it is often overlooked by small businesses, since plastic is the go-to packaging material – but more on that in another post.

Needless to say I will be using paper and fabric packaging. All cards and small items will be in either plain-white or pink-stripe flat bags, or pink organza bags. Then if customers need a carrier bag, I will offer a brown paper bag with my logo stamp!

Before the big day I will practice setting out my display at home, and below is my plan of how everything will be arranged.

marketstall_plan-set-up

  • I will be using a large vanity case, a picnic hamper and a metal fruit stand as my main containers, since I have a lot of small items. Most of the things I’m using are just items I already have at home!
  • String and pegs will be used on the lids of the containers to display examples of each of my items.
  • To catch people’s attention I will use some Shibori fabric for my tablecloth, as well as fairy lights and large painted cardboard shapes.
  • For information I will have my new business cards in a wooden bowl, a welcome message on a mini A-frame blackboard, and prices on mini blackboard pegs.
  • There will also be some free chocolate treats on cute vintage saucers!

So I’ve got a busy week ahead of me, but I will still make time to share my usual Tuesday and Friday blog posts with you all! This week you will find an Artist Date at the museum and Random Round-Up #2. Then next Sunday I will have a chance to reflect on how the market went and upload some photos of my stall. Wish me luck!

In case you missed any of my posts from the past week, here’s a little re-cap:

  • On Friday I shared my favourite moments from the past month in November Happy Highlights.
  • On Tuesday I created a playlist of some new favourites, including Laura Marling’s new single, ‘Soothing’, in Playtime #4. The next Playtime will be Christmas songs!!!
  • Last Sunday I showed you how I packaged my first ever Etsy order!

That’s all for this week. Enjoy what’s left of the weekend, and have a productive start to the new week!

Peace and love

Rachel x

3 Replies to “Sunday Sunray News: preparation for my first ever market stall”

Leave a Reply

