Personal Goals for 2017 // Sunray Sister

Hello sisters! How is your week going so far? Today I want to share a few personal things with you, because this business is a huge journey for me, and I want you to know what’s going on behind it. I want you to know what matters to me.

Last month I shared my business goals for 2017. Those goals are about fixed targets and going out of my comfort zone to achieve new things. My personal goals are about coming back to myself, so that I can create my best self. They are about being able to have a solid foundation from which I can jump up to my business goals, and then still have something comfortable to land on!

For my personal goals, I have created four main categories: Health, Habits, Finance and Fun. These are four broad areas which I want to improve throughout the year. Let’s see what’s in each one…

health-1

Health – diet and exercise

In 2017 I will get better at looking after my body and my mind.

I have already made a major change this year by becoming vegetarian. I have always eaten meat, but I suddenly realised that I don’t need to, my body doesn’t need it, and I no longer need to harm animals. What’s more I am taking part in Veganuary, a vegan challenge for January.

I also want to move more, and breathe in more fresh-air. In 2017 I aim to walk outside everyday. Doing a lot of work from home often means I get stuck inside all day. When I get outside I feel a million times better. Obviously I need to build up to doing serious exercise eventually, such as running and cycling.

By eating well and exercising regularly, my mind will become clearer and my body will feel happier. To add to this, I want to revisit yoga and meditation. I have done some basic meditation in the past using the Headspace app on my phone, and I have learnt some yoga moves from a class and books, so I would like to pick these up again in 2017.

habits-1

Habits – planning and possessions

In 2017 I will become more organised and have fewer possessions.

Time is my biggest demon. Yet I know that I can conquer it, with the power of lists! And lists! And more lists!!! Plus a lot of willpower. If I want to be self-employed, or at least to begin with be able to juggle a job with running a small business, I need a daily routine. That means no lie-ins, no late nights. It means creating effective to-do lists, daily and weekly schedules, and prioritising.

Aside from all the serious stuff, I need to remember the mundane things. Cleaning and chores. Planning meals and doing food shopping. These basic things often get forgotten. But in 2017 I want to give them a place and respect my chores with a set routine and plan.

Before I can truly see clearly however, I need to get rid of the physical things that are in my way. I’m talking about clutter. Possessions. Stuff. There is a big trend at the moment for minimalism and I think this is great. So over the next couple of months I will be clearing out a lot of my belongings. I might also film the process to share later, when I launch my YouTube channel, which is one of my business goals!

carpe

Finances – the necessary stuff

In 2017 I will be financially secure and be in control of my money.

To me, money is such an abstract concept. Quite similar to time. In the age of plastic cards, and online shopping and banking, I basically never see money. And yet it makes me miserable. So it is another demon which I need to conquer, this time with the power of spreadsheets!!! And possibly an accountant. Money is also quite a private thing, so I won’t say anymore here.

fun

Fun – the nice stuff

In 2017 I will have fun and do things that I love.

There are a lot of things that I love to do, but I hardly ever do them. So this year I am determined to make some time for fun.

I love music, but it has got slightly buried in my life recently. In 2017 I want to start practicing piano and singing regularly again; just for me to start with, and eventually for sharing at gigs and in YouTube videos again.

Of course I love art and crafts as well. This year I want to start building a handmade wardrobe by sewing clothes from patterns that I already own (I have quite a lot of dress patterns!), and I will probably film the process for YouTube as well. I also want to get back into collaging and start a journal that combines collage, drawing, paint and my written thoughts, in order to reflect on my emotions.

I often forget about the people in my life, so I also want to add a final, and most important goal for 2017, to plan special dates with Fraz, my boyfriend. These could be dates out to the cinema, for a walk, for a meal, or dates in to watch a film or play games.

 

personal

My 2017 personal goals list

  1. Be vegetarian and try being vegan
  2. Walk outside everyday
  3. Practice yoga and meditation
  4. Plan each day
  5. Respect chores and create a routine for them
  6. Plan meals and prepare in advance
  7. De-clutter and become minimalist
  8. Become financially secure and track finances
  9. Practice piano
  10. Learn cover songs
  11. Sew clothes from patterns I already own
  12. Keep a collage journal
  13. Plan special dates with Fraz

 

What are you planning this year? Do you want to change? Are you going to be your best possible self? Let me know about all of your crazy plans in the comments or via social media. You could also follow me on Instagram for more personal insights and daily inspiration.

See you again this Friday for episode six of Playtime. Have a great week sisters!

 

Peace and love

Rachel x

5 Replies to “Personal Goals for 2017 // Sunray Sister”

Leave a Reply

