Day 4: Thoughts of an Anxious Artist // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love

Welcome back sisters! Today is the fourth day of my 14 Days of Love blogging challenge. I hope you are enjoying it so far!? If you missed any of the first three posts, you can find them all here.

Now, I have a confession for you all.

Last week, I promised an Etsy shop update today. But I haven’t been able to achieve this goal, for a few different reasons. Instead of creating some alternative content, I just wanted to write honestly about how I’m feeling and what my situation looks like at the moment.

img_4262

The present…

I love to make cute things, and I love to share this love with others! I started my Etsy shop back in September 2016, and it has been a fun experience so far. I aim to bring you high quality handmade items that you will love, which will hopefully make you love yourself, others and the planet a little more. And sometimes it takes me a bit longer than I think to make new products. Part of this is to do with not planning thoroughly, or considering things from a serious business viewpoint. So I’m still working things out!

I don’t make any money from Sunray Sister. Yet I have to pay rent and bills, so for now I have to work at a ‘normal’ job. I recently started a new position, with lots of extra hours. This is fantastic, but also means that I get home from work and continue work at home for my business, and then go to work again the next morning. At the moment I have been focusing on building my brand online, which hasn’t left much time for sewing. (Although I did launch my first giveaway with three new handmade creations, which I am really proud of!) Additionally I recently finished a Prince’s Trust course and need to start work on my business plan. It also happens to be a special someone’s birthday tomorrow. Oh, and I managed to get a cold! 

So a few things hit me all at once this week, and a few things will have to wait. I set myself this daily blogging challenge and I really want to complete it. I really want to get to the heart of what Sunray Sister needs to be about. And I can do that through writing and sharing my ideas with you on this blog. I also really need to look after myself better; basic things like sleep, hydration and exercise often get forgotten. Self-care should never have to wait.

finepix-072

The future…?

I have a small feeling that Sunray Sister will eventually be less about selling handmade products, and more about providing a service for promoting self-love, positivity and improved well-being.

Essentially I want to spread a message of experience over possessions. I am reading more and more about the benefits of minimalism, reusing and repairing belongings, living simply, connecting with nature and using natural products, being kinder to other creatures and to the environment.

These are just some thoughts of an anxious artist trying to figure out what’s right, what’s true; where there is clarity and alignment in order to become less anxious. I will continue my research and get back to you!

l-052

What are your thoughts? What is your impression of my brand? Where do you think I could take this business in the future? As always I have endless ideas, and am constantly seeking balance, simplicity and clarity. I know I will find it within myself eventually, and I look forward to sharing more of this journey of self-discovery with you soon.


 

Tomorrow join me for day 5 of Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love, where we will be celebrating the birthday of the most awesome man in the whole universes!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

2 Replies to “Day 4: Thoughts of an Anxious Artist // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love”

Leave a Reply

