Day 9: Top Love and Learning Resources // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love

Hello sisters, and welcome to day 9 of Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love!

Today I have brought together all of the resources that are guiding me on my journey of self-love and learning. From meditation to zero waste, the people I have been following have various beliefs and messages. They have books, blogs, images, social media, podcasts, videos, speeches and magazines. They use many different methods to get their points across, but they all do so with skill and real-life experience, and what they have to say is seriously important. So read on!

Gala Darling

This lady is powerful! She focuses on self-love, spirituality, positivity, laws of attraction and exercise. Gala has been writing her blog for 10 years (yes 10 years!), and last year she published her own book which was later re-released by Hay House.

Elizabeth Gilbert

Better known for her novel ‘Eat, Pray, Love’, Elizabeth has most recently written a non-fiction book called ‘Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear’. She also gave a TED talk on creativity, fear and genius, and has a brilliant podcast series called ‘Magic Lessons’ where she helps individuals break through their fears to live a magic life.

Kris Carr

Coming from the perspective of diet and health, Kris has a lot to share. A cancer survivor and a true warrior, she is endlessly positive and calming. I purchased her ‘Crazy Sexy Love Notes’ to give me some perspective and encouragement each day. Plus the artwork by Lori Portka is stunning.

Holistic Habits

Sarah is a recent discovery, but someone who has already been on a long journey of self-discovery and healing. She has so much to share, and she does it so beautifully in her YouTube videos (my favourite is above). Sarah’s voice alone is enough to put me in a calm and happy place, but her advice is so useful and interesting, and has opened up so many new areas that I had no idea about.

Meghan Livingstone

Another YouTuber, Meghan is all about nutrition, reducing stress and listening to your body. Above is an example of one of her videos all about simplifying your life. I love her pure and natural take on life.

TED Talks

Of course, how could I write a post about my top resources without mentioning TED talks. There are too many great videos to link here. Above is one of my favourites, by Andy Puddicome of Headspace (a brilliant meditation app), all about making time for yourself and finding peace.

Flow Magazine

I have always had a bit of a thing for magazines. Recently I found Flow magazine and instantly knew it was special. Flow magazine was founded in the Netherlands and is also available in English. “A magazine that takes its time”; every issue of Flow seeks to celebrate creativity and imperfection, and encourage self-development and slowing down.

James Clear

On his blog, James (image above) seeks to answer the question: ‘how can we live better?’. He has hundreds of articles, and is a great example of self-discipline. Additionally he has links to lots of recommended books, organised into useful categories. Needless to say, my reading list is now much longer than before.

Zen Habits

Similar to James Clear, this blog by Leo Babauta is essential reading for serious self-development and building new, healthy habits for a more balanced life. On top of the amazing content, I just love the total visual simplicity of this website. It feels so pure and authentic.

Be More With Less

Courtney Carver writes about minimalism and simplifying your life (image above). My favourite subject she has written about is ‘I don’t know what’s best for you’; read all of the books and blogs, listen to the podcasts and talks, but ultimately, take what you need from them, and build your own path to where you need to go.

Be Zero 

Last, but not least, is Andrea Sanders’ organisation ‘Be Zero’, all about living a zero waste lifestyle. The first thing to clarify when finding out about ‘zero waste’ is that the ‘zero’ does not necessarily mean ‘none’. The zero signifies a circle, which in turn represents the aim of a circular economy, instead of the standard linear economy. Through her website and Instagram account Andrea spreads this message with honest images and real life lessons. Right now she is wearing the same dress for the whole of February; go check it out! I will be writing about this subject more in the future as I feel it is so important, and not enough people know about it.

 

dsc04365


Who inspires you to be and do better? What books would you recommend for personal development and self-love? I would love to know and I hope my suggestions have been useful to you.

Tomorrow is day 10 of Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love. After a few slightly heavy posts, it’s time for a little fun! In the past I’ve brought you lists of my favourite tunes, but for day 10 I have put together a list of my favourite films (about love of course). See you soon!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

One Reply to “Day 9: Top Love and Learning Resources // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love”

Leave a Reply

