Day 10: Favourite Films about Love // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love

Happy Friday sisters! Welcome to the 10th day of this 14 day blog challenge, celebrating all things love. Hit ‘Sunray Sister’ above to see an overview of all my previous posts!

Today I have put together a list of my favourite films on the theme of love, (in no particular order), so you can get prepared for a cozy weekend, or a romantic Valentine’s evening. Snuggling on the sofa with your love interest/gal pals/fluffy companion is recommended for optimum enjoyment!

[all images from http://www.imdb.com]

  1. Moonrise Kingdom – oh Wes, you have my heart. His films are just so unique and special. So much detail, so much creativity.
  2. Miss Potter – Yes, she wrote Peter Rabbit (and many other stories), and was extremely successful in many ways. But Beatrix Potter also has a heartbreaking love story, tissues will be required!
  3. Amélie – Just the kind of quirky film that I love. All the little moments and cute clues. It’s just so beautiful.
  4. Romeo & Juliet – A classic reinvented. The juxtaposition of Shakespearean language with a modern setting is stunning. Added bonus of a brilliant soundtrack.
  5. West Side Story – Another take on the Romeo & Juliet story line, as an awesome musical, with even-more-awesome dancing. This film makes me want to learn to dance.
  6. Pride & Prejudice – I love costume dramas. I’m not sorry. I just get seduced by the longing looks, and the striding through fields, and the giggling in the ballroom. It’s all so dramatic! Thank you Jane Austen, I can always rely on you.
  7. A Room with a View – I studied the book at school, and then discovered the film. This story by E. M. Forster is one to learn from: reject what society expects, follow true love and passion.
  8. Chocolat – I was captivated from start to end. Any character trying to change stubborn old ways, whilst celebrating ancient tradition, has got my vote. And the leading lady Vianne does just that. Now I need to read the book by Joanne Harris.
  9. Atonement – Keira strikes again. Ian McEwan’s story is so clever and complex; I am a big fan of an unreliable narrator.
  10. 10 Things I Hate About You – Finishing off the list with something a little less serious, but also based on Shakespeare! Kat is just so cool. A cool Kat.

[all images from http://www.imdb.com]


What are your favourite films? How many of them are about love? Have I left any essential love films off my list?! Leave your recommendations in the comments or on social media; I love Instagram at the moment.

Tomorrow is the start of my three-day countdown to Valentine’s Day, when I will have an extra special surprise for you all, (stay tuned to find out what it is)! During the three days I will be covering three aspects of how to love: yourself, others and the planet. We’re almost on the home straight sisters!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

One thought on “Day 10: Favourite Films about Love // Sunray Sister’s 14 Days of Love

Leave a Reply

