Another Introduction: Creative Alternatives by Sunray Sister

Hello again beautiful sisters! Happy Friday!

Last Friday I introduced ‘Love Lessons’; the first of two new post series starting soon on the Sunray Sister blog. Today is the turn of the second new series:

Creative Alternatives

This second new series of posts is going to be about finding alternative ways to live our lives, which require a little creativity to reduce our harmful impact on this beautiful planet. In these posts I aim to encourage:

  • creativity
  • thinking outside the box
  • less waste
  • more natural products
  • reducing harm and suffering
  • simplifying

In each post I will highlight a specific item/behaviour/habit that is considered ‘normal’ but causes unnecessary waste/pollution/suffering. Following this I will provide my creative alternative! These will often be natural and DIY projects, as well as basic replacements that you can invest in right now, including a metal water bottle, instead of the standard ‘convenient’ plastic version. These alternatives may also require a gradual adjustment to your habits, so remember to forgive yourself as you learn! It’s a journey and I am always learning, forgiving and moving forward.

I will also be referring back to the zero-waste movement quite a lot; explaining what this is exactly, along with the importance of the many ‘R’s, the least important of which (but the one you’ve probably heard the most) is recycling.

We need to take a step back and ask ourselves, what could I do before recycling? Could I reduce my consumption, and buy less? Could I refuse that paper bag? Could I get a bag to reuse? Could I repair that coat? Could I repurpose this glass jar? Could I rot this cardboard packaging?

Recycling is not the only solution. Recycling says that it’s ok to continue producing waste. Instead we need to say let’s stop creating this waste in the first place. We need to think about the energy that goes into something being made, and the fact that all that energy in disposable items is sent to landfill. We need to respect the physical items in our lives, and not just dispose of them.

Some ideas for ‘creative alternative’ topics:

  • plastic/paper bags < reusable cloth bags
  • plastic water bottles < reusable metal bottle
  • take-away drink cups < reusable ceramic or glass cups
  • tissues, napkins + cotton wool pads < washable handkerchiefs + cloths
  • disposable straws + cutlery < reusable alternatives
  • packaging in general < bulk stores? farmer’s markets?
  • make-up < make your own!
  • plastic toothpaste +  brush < DIY toothpaste + bamboo brush
  • deodorant + other toiletries < DIY or support local package-free business
  • razors < safety razor with replaceable + recyclable blades
  • disposable feminine products < reusable ones!
  • standard laundry powder < DIY + natural
  • animal product diet < Vegan diet

Structure for ‘creative alternative’ posts:

  • Introduce the topic
  • Outline the issue, use statistics and examples
  • Show the creative alternative, explain why it is better
  • Include a mini-tutorial, or provide links to purchase related items, which may sometimes lead to my own Etsy shop!
  • Conclusion, and open discussion for further ideas

This is all a lot to ask, I know. But with forgiveness, and baby steps, and an acceptance that perfect does not exist, we can make the impossible completely possible. And yes, one person can make a difference. Because when one person sets an example, others follow in their path. I hope I can set an example, for you to set an example for someone else. Together we can make a difference!


Could you take on some creative alternatives in your life? What alternative habits do you already practice? Let me know in the comments or on social media.

Before you go, make sure to watch my latest YouTube video where I show you how to make your own toothpaste. Like and subscribe while you’re there too!

See you on Sunday for my next blog post. Have a brilliant weekend full of love and fun!

Peace and love,

Rachel x

One Reply to “Another Introduction: Creative Alternatives by Sunray Sister”

Leave a Reply

