Celebrate Spring Instead of Easter // Sunray Sister

Happy Sunday sisters! It is super sunny and lovely here, what’s the weather like where you are? I’ve been shedding my layers and rising from my winter hibernation, discovering new places to explore outside.

Now, time for a short but serious discussion…

Next Sunday is the religious Christian celebration called Easter. It is also the commercial chocolate event called Easter. Today I want to talk about why I will be celebrating neither, and prefer to celebrate nature and the cycles of life instead.

I will not be celebrating Easter for two reasons, the first is that I am not Christian. For a while I was agnostic, but recently I have been researching Buddhism and spirituality, and I feel a connection to them. So it makes absolutely no sense to me to celebrate Easter. The only reason that I have recognised it in the past is because supermarkets sell chocolate eggs and we all give them to each other, because…chocolate? This holds no meaning for me, so I see no logic in taking part in it.

The second motive for not celebrating Easter is a recent change in my diet. At the end of 2016, I made the sudden decision to become Vegetarian. In January 2017 I discovered Veganuary, and tried out being Vegan. Throughout February I swung back and forth between being Vegan, and then eating pizza with cheese, and various things which contained milk or eggs. By mid-March I had finally made up my mind that I wanted to become a vegan, and right now, bar a few trace ingredients, I can happily say I am vegan!

On my vegan journey I have found a few things very easy to stop eating, including dairy chocolate. To me a Vegan diet is more than saying no to animal products, and discovering all the ethical, environmental and health benefits. It is a sudden realisation that food already exists for us to eat, and is ready in its pure and raw form, without the need for processing and sugar and flavourings and any other unnatural elements. Chocolate is supposed to be enjoyed as pure dark chocolate, without any dairy. So that’s how I like it, and I don’t need it shaped in an egg. Just pure and simple, how things are meant to be.

DSC01601

Next Sunday I will not be thinking of a man rising from the dead, and I will not be eating dairy chocolate eggs, (although I may coincidentally be eating pure dark chocolate, which I do a lot anyway). I will however, be thinking of Spring, and rebirth, and death, and life. I will especially be marvelling at the incredible blossoms which I have been watching emerge over the last few weeks. They are so stunning! The wonderful cycles of the universes!!! That is something worth celebrating, and I encourage you to do the same.


Coming up…

This week is filling up fast, since I now have two day-jobs, plus the sun is out so I want to get out and explore! I’m not sure if I will be able to fit in a YouTube video, so it looks like once a fortnight will work better for me from now on.

I have, however, had a chance to add a few new things to my Etsy shop, go check it out and get yourself or a loved one a cute Spring gift!

 

DSC04514
Bring Smiles

Have a joyful week!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

 

 

One thought on “Celebrate Spring Instead of Easter // Sunray Sister

Leave a Reply

