Say no to plastic bottles! // Creative Alternatives 001

Welcome back to the Sunray Sister blog. How has your week been? Mine has been a bit up and down, but I’m slowly working things out! That’s why I made this little business/project/creative outlet of mine that I like to call Sunray Sister; to work out what makes me happy and help others lead a positive, conscious and creative life.

Part of that includes leading a natural life with less waste, and more respect for every living being and every object. Choosing what you bring into your life, how you treat it and how you let go of it.

So today is the start of my new series of posts called ‘Creative Alternatives’, focusing on how to live with more care, more creativity and ultimately create less waste and less impact on the environment. You can also read my introduction post for this series here!

Every other week I will present a very specific issue, and my take on a solution, or a creative alternative. In other words, we will use our creativity to find a solution outside the normal ways of thinking (which is generally to accept what is given to us and not question things). Let’s start asking more questions! Our first question is, why do we use disposable plastic bottles?!

 

Part one: the problem

Plastic is made from oil, which is drilled from the earth. This oil is made into plastic pellets. The pellets are formed into plastic bottles. The drinks are made to go into the bottles. The packaging and advertising are created for the drinks. The bottles are shipped all over the world. The bottles wait patiently on shelves everywhere.

I am sure we can all agree that this is a huge process which requires a lot of energy! And for what? To quickly quench our thirst and swiftly dispose of the convenient container.

“But wait!”, I hear you cry, “I shall diligently reuse that poor plastic bottle for at least the next month to make proper use of all that energy that went into making it! I shall then responsibly repurpose the bottle to grow a plant for my child’s school project. And finally, I will of course recycle the bottle once it is no longer needed.”

Well…

The very act of using a plastic bottle in any context, or any reused situation, suggests that you at some point supported the continued production of plastic bottles. We vote with our money. If you buy a disposable plastic bottle, even with the best intentions to reuse, repurpose and recycle, you are telling the big corporations and people in power, “Hey it’s ok to keep drilling all this oil and using all this energy to bring us convenient drinks, I will be your loyal servant and responsibly use and dispose of this packaging you have so kindly created for me, don’t worry about it.”

Please, do worry about it. Do care about it. Do give a damn about it!

So why do we love plastic bottles so much anyway? I can see three reasons: convenience, you like sugary drinks, you are concerned about tap water.

Here’s three reasons I don’t like plastic bottles: they use up limited resources, they are not designed to last and yet they will most probably outlive us, and they get eaten by animals who cannot digest plastic (which, if you eat fish especially, you will possibly eat too). The earth and its animals do not want plastic! So why do we? What is more important: your momentary thirst, or the entire life of millions of innocent creatures?

 

bottle_creative alt

Part two: the creative alternative (a.k.a. the solution)

So perhaps I’ve convinced you to stop buying plastic bottles? But how will you ever drink again? Fear not, for I have solutions. You must remember, however, that throughout this series the creative alternative is twofold: there is a physical replacement, but there is also a new mindset and habit to incorporate into your daily life. Here are some easy steps to get you started in the right direction:

Step one: buy a reusable bottle. I really love the metal ones! They are light-weight and long-lasting.

Step two: fill it up each day from the tap or get a water filter (Brita actually take back their filters for recycling or you can get alternatives such as charcoal water filters). Give up sugary drinks, they are not good!

Step three: put it in your bag/on your desk and drink!

Together we can make a difference!!!

Could you take on some creative alternatives in your life? What alternative habits do you already practice? Let me know in the comments or on social media.

 


Coming up…

  • Tomorrow (Saturday) I have an exciting announcement to do with my Etsy shop! Make sure you follow my Facebook and/or Instagram to hear the news first.
  • This Sunday there will be a new blog post up with my current reading list! There are many books that I really want to read, which I have finally written out in one place in my journal, and thought I would share here too.
  • On Wednesday I will have a craft tutorial YouTube video (which was due out last week, but I have now decided I will reduce my content to fortnightly for a little while, so that I can focus more time on my Etsy shop and balancing the other elements to my business!) In the meantime check out my latest video below, and take a little browse in my Etsy shop for handmade self-love promoting one-of-a-kind creations.

 

DSC04563
Let go – a new hoop available in my Etsy shop now!

Have a relaxing weekend sisters and take some time off just for you, because you should always love yourself!

Peace and love,

Rachel x

One Reply to “Say no to plastic bottles! // Creative Alternatives 001”

Leave a Reply

