Adventures, Art and Asanas // Dear Diary #2

Dear Diary,

(Apologies for missing last Sunday’s blog post, but that just means there’s even more good stuff to share today!)

The past couple of weeks have been filled with adventure, inspiration and creativity. There was also a heat wave, during which I had a successful job interview. So I start a new job on Wednesday!

In the past week I’ve also started a daily yoga practice using Yoga with Adriene’s 30 day challenge on YouTube. So far, so strong! I feel connected, aware, focused, clarified, and excited to get stronger and more flexible.

DSC04849DSC04818DSC04841DSC04851

Last weekend I hopped on the train and took a trip to my parents’ house in the countryside for Father’s day. Whilst there I picked a posy for my dad, made friends with a beetle, melted in the sun and tried to hide in the flowers with the cat, Bertie. We also ate fresh strawberries from the garden with vegan ice-cream. Ahhh bliss!


DSC04860
Blaise castle house museum, with fancy flocked wallpaper.

DSC04904DSC04863

DSC04900
I really love the illustration on the left cup.

DSC04864DSC04874

DSC04872
Vintage collage kit!!!

DSC04875

DSC04899
I might try to recreate this – I think it would be very useful.

On Friday, Fraz and I ventured out to Blaise castle in Bristol. A short bus ride took us out of town and into a beautiful estate with a fancy house, a fake castle and endless lush green, (far too photogenic) woods.

DSC04913DSC04938DSC04927DSC04925

The woods felt like something out of a fairy tale. There were arched stone bridges, trickling streams, serene ponds, stepping-stones, bobby robins, cheeky squirrels, secret caves, and strange knobbly tree roots. Spirits and fairies were hiding around every corner!

DSC04944
Only open 2-4pm on the 3rd Sunday of each month…
DSC04947
…maybe there’s another way in!
DSC04953
View across to Goram’s Chair

DSC04962

On our way home we picked up some INCREDIBLE vegan chocolate sorbet from ‘Swoon’ on Park Street. Yes, you heard me, chocolate sorbet!!! It. is. so. good.


DSC04974
“How came you to know her?”

DSC04976DSC04979

 

Throughout the last fortnight I have been experimenting with mixed media art, and I am loving it! Most of the vintage books in the pictures above and below are the items I mentioned in my last diary entry, found in an Oxfam book shop. Since then I have been cutting, sticking and slapping on layers of paint and colour!

My favourite creation so far is this mini pamphlet (below) about King George V, turned into a weird window book. It features various shaped and positioned holes in each page, portraits from postcards, my own paint layers, and some potential for black out poetry next I think.

DSC04989

DSC04987
“Do I look fabulous?”

DSC04985DSC04982

 

I want to create more and more visual art, using mixed media techniques with ‘found’ or recycled materials, while creating little or no waste. I want my work to feature mysterious and whimsical figures, with lyrical words.

I want to use up all the materials I have in plastic containers and packets, and return to the elements; learn about pigments, make paint from the earth, make charcoal with fire, make paper with water, watch an arrangement of leaves blow away in the wind.

I feel so focused, and yet so free. This is an exciting time for my creative journey! Stick around to see where it takes me next!


Day 21 of #ColourMyEveryDay by @adventuresandteaparties = natural 🌸🌹🌷🌺🌞 I LOVE nature 😍 I am endlessly fascinated by her beauty: from the tiniest creature to the infinity of the universes 🌌 Nature makes me so humble, so grateful for the time I have on this wonderful planet 🌎🌏🌍 and gives me so much clarity and perspective; forget all your troubles and know that nature is doing her thing and she needs us to work with her, look after her and not destroy her!πŸ‘βœŒHere is a vintage book I'm about to paint in, with some incredible rose petals I found on the ground at the Ashton Court rose garden πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸ’–πŸŒΉ β€’ β€’ β€’ #in2nature #gowildlyandslow #creativelifehappylife #makersgonnamake #ashtoncourt #bristolcreatives #colorcolourhunters #colorcolourseekers #colorcolour Β #colorcolourmagic #colorcolourlove #acolorstory #myunicornlife #pursuepretty #incolourfulcompany #abmcolorfullife

A post shared by Sunray Sister (@sunraysister) on

Loving look through all your photos for today's #ColourMyEveryDay prompt of 'pattern' and I think sharing patterns on Fridays has to be a thing now because it just feels so flipping right for the end of the working week. Who's with me? 🌈And if you need convincing, take a look at these four I picked out from the feed today…1) This pattern designed by @sophmog is definitely for you cat ladies out there! Love it! 😻2) Love this summer tropical style pattern designed and shared by @daisysteeleillustration πŸŒπŸ‰πŸ 3) How fab are these bold colours and shapes shared by @sunraysister πŸ’™πŸ’— 4) This super cool pattern and typography shared by @spoonfulsugarco totally has Friday vibes about it! πŸ™ŒπŸ» πŸŽ‰πŸŒˆ Thanks so much for sharing again today! 🌈Have a super Friday night and a fab weekend! 🎈 #patterns #patternrepeat #catpattern #tropicalfruit #patterndesigners #surfacepattern #abstractpatterns #colourfulpatterns #colourseekers #colourhunters #patternhunters #patternseekers #lovepatterns

A post shared by Adventures and Tea Parties (@adventuresandteaparties) on

Meanwhile in the online world I have been keeping up with the #ColourMyEveryDayΒ Instagram challenge by ‘Adventures and Tea Parties’. It is allowing me to get really serious about what I share; planning, setting up the perfect shot, editing, using the right hashtags. Yet I’m having lots of fun with it too!

I even got featured on ‘pattern’ day, when I shared a painting by a fellow artist and friend here in Bristol, Jimmer Willmott.

hometown cover

Over on YouTube I published something a little different on my channel: a video of me singing as a special surprise for my dad!

This Wednesday it will be back to my usual creative videos. I’ve been finding lots of new inspiring channels on YouTube this week, giving me fresh ideas for the direction my channel could go in. Below are three of my favourite new subscriptions: By Bun, Brittany McCowan and Toni Burt Artist!


Coming up this week I will have a new video on Wednesday, sharing my creative process behind a Summer themed, mixed-media collage. Then next Sunday I will have another diary entry; it’s set to be a busy week sisters, so I will have lots more behind the scenes fun to share with you! Stay creative!

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

 

Leave a Reply

