Change is Coming // Dear Diary #3

Dear diary,

I’m leaving. And now everything looks brand new. All the views I’ve become used to after five years; suddenly I am seeing them with new eyes. With eyes that know this will soon be over. The photo above is one of the first I took after moving to Bristol in 2012, and soon I will be taking my last as a resident in this spectacular city.

I’m turning the page at the end of the most important chapter in my life so far. The Bristol chapter. The title of the new chapter? The North. Me and Fraz are moving to Staffordshire. On Tuesday Fraz got a phone call with an incredible offer: to become a drum building apprentice. It’s an offer he can’t refuse!

The funny thing is, Fraz received this chapter-ending, page-turning phone call on the first official day of my new job with @Bristol; I found out that I’m leaving on my first day…! What makes things harder is I don’t have one job to leave, but two. That means I have to say goodbye to two incredible teams of awesome people who I’ve been working alongside. I’m only just getting to know them, and yet I always feel so appreciated, and like I belong.

DSC00424
A few of the first photos I took after moving to Bristol

DSC00396DSC00565

In other news this week I received a beautiful letter from one of my new pen pals! The white envelope was decorated with painted flowers, and inside I discovered some knitted treasures, delicious tea, photographs, craft supplies, an adorable enamel pin badge, and a handwritten letter with some personal recommendations. I can’t wait to write my reply, and gather some sweet gifts for her!

The letter I sent to this pen-pal featured in one of my recent YouTube videos; that video is now the most popular on my channel, with over 500 views! What’s more my subscribers are growing, I’m getting lovely comments, and my Instagram is growing too. I feel so grateful to be part of these supportive communities of creative individuals, cheering each other on, sharing all the little things that make us happy.

For my YouTube content in the near future I am going to make an ‘opening my pen-pal letters’ video, to show the cute things I received, as well as a fun craft project video, a couple of decluttering videos, (especially now that we’re moving! My wardrobe declutter is actually my second most popular video), and some sketchbook/collage/mixed-media process videos. I also want to create a ‘Farewell to Bristol’ video before I go, to remember all the places, and faces that I will leave behind.

That being said, iMovie has been playing up this week! I edit all my videos in iMovie on my MacBook (which is a few years old now), and I think it’s getting a little bit tired. Due to this fact – alongside working two jobs, and moving across the country – I’m not sure how many videos I will be able to finish and upload in the next few weeks and months. As you might guess, I have a million ideas for videos and endless enthusiasm, but time and resources are out of my control at the moment. So, I will be kind and forgive myself, and upload when I can.

 

Amongst all of this, Fraz and I found time for a little adventure at the start of the week. Using our @Bristol free entry, we hoped aboard the famous SS Great Britain! This is a Bristol tourist attraction not to be missed; I’ve been before and found it just as interesting on this return visit. I don’t always pay attention to all of the facts and figures, but I love to absorb all the visual aspects, especially on the ship itself, where you feel as though you are taking a step back in time.

Bristol has so many incredible places to visit, and I’ve always enjoyed playing tourist in my own town, yet in two months I will actually become a tourist; just a visitor. Of course that is the positive thing to remember, I can always go back to a place. Change always comes, but I can return.


So it’s not quite goodbye, I’m just preparing myself. Time and me still don’t see eye to eye, so I thought it would be best to start saying my farewells now. This way I will be ready when the time does come to actually leave.

 

Peace and love,

Rachel x

Leave a Reply

